Cover Mozart: Requiem Realisations

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Kings College Cambridge

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Choral

Interpret: King's College Choir Cambridge & Stephen Cleobury

Komponist: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,90
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791): Requiem, K. 626:
  • 1Requiem, K. 626: Introitus: Requiem04:06
  • 2Requiem, K. 626: Kyrie02:39
  • 3Requiem, K. 626: Dies irae01:55
  • 4Requiem, K. 626: Tuba mirum02:59
  • 5Requiem, K. 626: Rex tremendae01:51
  • 6Requiem, K. 626: Recordare04:58
  • 7Requiem, K. 626: Confutatis02:36
  • 8Requiem, K. 626: Lacrimosa02:49
  • 9Requiem, K. 626: Domine Jesu03:24
  • 10Requiem, K. 626: Hostias03:59
  • 11Requiem, K. 626: Sanctus01:25
  • 12Requiem, K. 626: Benedictus04:50
  • 13Requiem, K. 626: Agnus Dei02:54
  • 14Requiem, K. 626: Lux aeternam02:30
  • 15Requiem, K. 626: Cum sanctis tuis02:46
  • 16Requiem, K. 626: Amen (Fugue)01:40
  • 17Requiem, K. 626: Sanctus01:34
  • 18Requiem, K. 626: Benedictus07:10
  • 19Requiem, K. 626: Cum sanctis tuis02:53
  • 20Requiem, K. 626: Lacrimosa03:08
  • Mozart's Requiem - An Audio Documentary:
  • 21Mozart's Requiem - An Audio Documentary: Mozart in 1791 and the Commissioning of the Requiem13:44
  • 22Mozart's Requiem - An Audio Documentary: The Composition of the Requiem18:21
  • 23Mozart's Requiem - An Audio Documentary: Reception34:25
  • Total Runtime02:08:36

Info zu Mozart: Requiem Realisations

The Choir of King s College, Cambridge under conductor Stephen Cleobury presents a compelling second release. Here it performs Mozart's Requiem (Süssmayr edition), followed by complete movement realisations by leading composers and musicologists including Michael Finnissy, Robert D. Levin and Duncan Druce. The recording also features a stellar line-up soloists and the Academy of Ancient Music. The second disc features a unique bonus audio documentary about Mozart s Requiem, narrated by Elin Manahan Thomas (soprano soloist), with commentary illustrated by extracts of both the Requiem and the works that inspired it. The album s release will be accompanied by an extensive international press and marketing campaign, supported by advertising and video for online and instore use. The Choir will be embarking on a major North American tour in April 2013 coinciding with the release. The Choir of King s College, Cambridge is one of the world s foremost choirs and unquestionably among the most widely heard. It owes its existence to King Henry VI, who envisaged the daily singing of services in his magnificent chapel. This remains the Choir s raison d être, and is an important part of the lives of its 16 choristers, who are educated at King s College School, and the 14 choral scholars and two organ scholars, who study a variety of subjects in the College. The Choir has been a breeding ground for numerous professional singers, two of whom James Gilchrist and Christopher Purves appear as soloists on this recording.

"This is a performance of the highest quality by any standard." (International Record Review)

"Certainly the small forces employed bestow an intimacy on this familiar music that is totally engaging and often illuminating ... highly recommended." (Choir & Organ, UK)

"And what a stirring job the combined forces of Cleobury and his compadres make of music so familiar you might mistakenly take it for granted...And there s more. A second CD is devoted to an artfully constructed audio documentary by Mozart boffin Cliff Eisen about the life, times, loves and obsessions of Mozart as he was composing the Requiem. But the real USP is the contemporary perspective offered via a sequence of alternative realisations and completions by Michael Finnissy, Duncan Druce, Robert Levin and other worthies." (Sinfini)

"Recorded inside cloistered deep inside the honeyed acoustic of the Chapel of King s College, Cambridge, the immersive sounds are allowed to reverberate along their natural and pure grain, a convincing spatial perspective emerging between the voices and the weathered, characterful sound of the Academy of Ancient Music." (Sinfini Music, UK)

"You could not ask for better soloists, and both the King's College Choir and Academy of Ancient Music are at the top of their respective games at the moment. The two-disc set (which retails for the price of one) includes an enlightening 'bonus' account by Cliff Eisen of the background and genesis of the work, as well as some 'Realisations' Michael Finnissy's 'Lacrimosa' bring the most striking. Is it a Requiem which you must have, though? If, like me, you would choose Sir Neville Marriner's version (also using the Süssmayr Edition), then this new one will please with its measured pace and warm sound; there's little to choose between the soloists, although James Gilchrist's tenor (for Cleobury) engages the ear perhaps more than any other. The King's College Choir is unfailingly excellent, even if you might just miss that last ounce of human frailty in the singing. The recording is dedicated to Sir Philip Ledger, the Director of Music at King's from 1974-82. He could hardly have a finer memorial." (Classical Ear)

"The most original recording I've heard this year is of Mozart s Requiem by Stephen Cleobury and the Choir of King s College, Cambridge. It s a beautifully judged performance of the familiar Sussmayr completion of Mozart s unfinished manuscript together with examples from half a dozen others who've tried their hand at this difficult task." (John Warrack, Gramophone)

Elin Manahan Thomas, soprano Christine Rice, mezzo-soprano James Gilchrist, tenor Christopher Purves, bass The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge, Academy of Ancient MusicStephen Cleobury, conductor

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für Mozart: Requiem Realisations

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO