Cover Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Phi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Choral

Interpret: Philippe Herreweghe, Collegium Vocale Gent and Orchestre des Champs-Elysées

Komponist: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 14,90
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85:
  • 1Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: I. Introduzione05:19
  • 2Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: II. Recitative. Jehova, du mein Vater!03:35
  • 3Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: III. Aria. Meine Seele ist erschüttert04:23
  • 4Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: IV. Recitative. Erzittre, Erde, Jehova’s Sohn liegt hier!01:34
  • 5Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: V. Aria. Preist des Erlösers Güte00:51
  • 6Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: VI. Chorus. O Heil euch, ihr Erlösten06:33
  • 7Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: VII. Recitative. Verkündet, Seraph, mir dein Mund Erbarmen01:08
  • 8Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: VIII. Duet. So ruhe denn mit ganzer Schwere04:19
  • 9Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: IX. Recitative. Willkommen, Tod01:04
  • 10Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: X. Chorus. Wir haben ihn gesehen02:09
  • 11Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: XI. Recitative. Die mich zu fangen ausgezogen sind01:22
  • 12Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: XII. Chorus. Hier ist er, der Verbannte02:23
  • 13Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: XIII. Recitative. Nicht ungestraft soll der Verweg’nen Schar01:23
  • 14Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: XIV. Trio. In meinen Adern wühlen gerechter Zorn und Wut04:23
  • 15Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: XV. Chorus. Auf! Auf! ergreifet den Verräter02:46
  • 16Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: XVI. Chorus. Welten singen Dank und Ehre01:07
  • 17Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge, Op. 85: XVII. Chorus. Preiset ihn, ihr Engelchöre03:07
  • Total Runtime47:26

Info zu Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge

Beethoven war genauso wenig Opernkomponist wie Oratoriumkomponist, wobei er hier wie da nicht grundsätzliche Probleme mit der Gattung hatte. Christus am Ölberge, 1803 in nur »vierzehn Tagen, inmitten allerlei Tumultes und anderer unangenehmer und beunruhigender Ereignisse in meinem Leben« komponiert, gehört heute zu den am wenigsten bekannten Werken des Komponisten. Dies ist allerdings weniger der Musik als vielmehr dem Text geschuldet. Philippe Herreweghe lässt uns in seiner kongenialen Interpretation die sprachlichen und dramaturgischen Schwächen mühelos vergessen.

Sebastian Kohlhepp, Tenor
Eleanor Lyons, Sopran
Thomas Bauer, Bass
Collegium Vocale Gent
Orchestre des Champs-Elysees
Philippe Herreweghe, Dirigent

Philippe Herreweghe
was born in Ghent and studied at both the university and music conservatory there, studying piano with Marcel Gazelle. He also started to conduct during this period, and founded Collegium Vocale Gent in 1970. He was invited by Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Gustav Leonhardt, who had noticed his innovative work, to participate in their recordings of the complete cantatas of J.S. Bach.

Herreweghe’s energetic, authentic and rhetorical approach to baroque music was soon drawing praise. In 1977 he founded the ensemble La Chapelle Royale in Paris, with whom he performed music of the French Golden Age. From 1982 to 2002 he was artistic director of the Académies Musicales de Saintes. During this period, he founded several new ensembles with whom he made historically appropriate and well-thought-out interpretations of repertoire stretching from the Renaissance to contemporary music. They include the Ensemble Vocal Européen, specialised in Renaissance polyphony, and the Orchestre des Champs Élysées, founded in 1991 with the aim of playing Romantic and pre-Romantic repertoire on original instruments. Since 2009, Philippe Herreweghe and Collegium Vocale Gent have been actively working on the development of a large European-level symphonic choir, at the invitation of the prestigious Accademia Chigiana in Siena.

Philippe Herreweghe continually seeks out new musical challenges, and for some time has been very active performing the great symphonic works, from Beethoven to Gustav Mahler. Since 1997 he has been the musical director of the Royal Flemish Philharmonic (deFilharmonie). He was appointed permanent guest conductor of the Netherlands’ Radio Chamber Philharmonic since 2008. He is also in great demand as a guest conductor with orchestras such as Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig and the Berlin-based Mahler Chamber Orchestra.

Over the years, Philippe Herreweghe has built up an extensive discography of more than 100 recordings with all these different ensembles, on such labels as Harmonia Mundi France, Virgin Classics and Pentatone. Highlights include the Lagrime di San Pietro of Lassus, Bach’s St. Matthew Passion, the complete symphonies of Beethoven and Schumann, Mahler’s song cycle Des Knaben Wunderhorn, Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5, Pierrot Lunaire by Schönberg and the Symphony of Psalms by Stravinsky. In 2010 he founded his own label (PHI), in order to give himself full artistic freedom to build up a rich and varied catalogue. The first recording, of Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No.4 (PHI-001) has been released, and the second CD, of J.S.Bach motets (PHI-002), is anticipated in 2011, followed by a new recording of Bach’s Mass in B minor and a recording of works by Johannes Brahms.

Philippe Herreweghe has received numerous European awards for his consistent artistic imagination and commitment. In 1990 the European music press named him “Musical Personality of the Year”. Herreweghe and Collegium Vocale Gent were appointed “Cultural Ambassadors of Flanders” in 1993. A year later he was awarded the Belgian order of Officier des Arts et Lettres, and in 1997 he was awarded an honorary doctorate from the Catholic University of Leuven. In 2003 he received the French title Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur. Lastly, in 2010 the city of Leipzig awarded him its Bach-Medaille for his great service as a performer of Bach.

Booklet für Beethoven: Christus am Ölberge

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO