One Night Only (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018) Gregory Porter

Album info



Label: Decca Records France

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Gregory Porter

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Mona Lisa (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)04:21
  • 2But Beautiful (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)04:59
  • 3Nature Boy (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)03:51
  • 4L-O-V-E (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)02:13
  • 5Quizas, Quizas, Quizas (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)04:05
  • 6Miss Otis Regrets (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)04:02
  • 7Pick Yourself Up (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)03:09
  • 8In Heaven (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)03:00
  • 9When Love Was King (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)07:23
  • 10The Lonely One (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)04:09
  • 11Ballerina (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)02:31
  • 12No Love Dying (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)05:33
  • 13I Wonder Who My Daddy Is (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)03:56
  • 14Sweet Lorraine (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)02:45
  • 15For All We Know (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)05:32
  • 16The Christmas Song (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)04:01
  • 17Smile (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)04:20
  • 18Hey Laura (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)03:41
  • 19Don’t Lose Your Steam (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)05:13
  • Total Runtime01:18:44

Info for One Night Only (Live At The Royal Albert Hall / 02 April 2018)

Following three sensational sold-out performances at the Royal Albert Hall in London earlier this year, the 2-time GRAMMY-winning vocalist Gregory Porter has announced his first-ever live release – One Night Only: Live At The Royal Albert Hall.

On the first night of Porter’s engagement at the Albert Hall, he performed with bis trusted jazz trio and a full 70-piece symphony orchestra, led by the Grammy-winning conductor and arranger Vince Mendoza. Recorded live for this release, the concert included songs from the artist’s recent album Nat King Cole & Me, as well as favourites such as ‘Hey Laura’, ‘When Love Was King’ and the concluding ‘Don’t Lose Your Steam’. In advance of the holiday season, One Night Only also features Porter’s version of the festive standard ‘The Christmas Song,’ written by Bob Wells and Mel Tormé and closely associated with Cole.

One Night Only — Live At The Royal Albert Hall is the latest release in Porter’s distinguished and unstoppable career, which has seen his Liquid Spirit and Take Me To The Alley achieve huge sales and Grammy Awards. Porter became the UK’s biggest selling jazz artist of the year after his Cole tribute album, released in October 2017, debuted on the British chart at No. 3, registering his highest debut and biggest-selling opening week. The album reached one million streams three times faster than Take Me To The Alley.

Among many other achievements during his rise in Britain, Porter has visited 10 Downing Street and sung for the Queen on many occasions, as well as performing on the hallowed Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury Festival. He also had a surprise dance hit and an Ibiza anthem with the Claptone Remix of ‘Liquid Spirit.’

Gregory Porter, vocals

Gregory Porter
Raised in California, Porter’s mother was a minister, and he cites the Bakersfield Southern Gospel sound, as well as his mother’s Nat King Cole record collection, as fundamental influences on his own sound. Porter began singing in small jazz clubs in San Diego while attending San Diego State University on a football scholarship, where he played outside linebacker. Eventually it was music that Porter chose to pursue full-time at the encouragement of local musicians including his mentor Kamau Kenyatta.

Kenyatta invited Porter to visit him in the studio in Los Angeles, where he was producing flutist Hubert Laws' album Remembers the Unforgettable Nat King Cole. When Laws overheard Porter singing along while he was tracking the Charlie Chaplin song "Smile," he was so impressed with the young singer that he decided to include Porter on the album.

Another fortunate twist of fate was the presence that day of Laws' sister, Eloise, a singer who was soon to join the cast of a new musical theater production It Ain't Nothin' But the Blues. Porter had minimal theatrical experience but was cast in one of the show’s lead roles when the play opened in Denver, and he eventually followed it to Off-Broadway and then Broadway, where The New York Times, in its 1999 rave review, mentioned Porter among the show's "powerhouse line up of singers.” It Ain't Nothin' But the Blues went on to earn both Tony and Drama Desk Award nominations that year.

Porter eventually put down roots in Brooklyn, and in 2010 released his debut album Water (Motéma Music), which earned a GRAMMY nomination for Best Jazz Vocal Album. His sophomore album Be Good (Motéma Music) followed in 2012 and earned him his second GRAMMY nomination for Best Traditional R&B Performance.

Despite having now recorded or shared the stage with the likes of Van Morrison, Wynton Marsalis, Dianne Reeves, Nicola Conte, Christian McBride, Kenny Barron, Buster Williams and David Murray, Porter remains grounded and humbled by all the new accolades. “Sometimes I haven’t had a chance to absorb and enjoy some of the audiences that I’ve been in front of, especially some of the icons of the music like Wynton and Herbie,” Porter says, “And they give me so much open-arm love; I couldn’t fathom that two years ago.” With the release of Liquid Spirit, Porter’s soaring career will surely ascend even higher.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO