Lachrymarium Ensemble Alerion

Album info




Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Ensemble Alerion

Composer: Thomas Weelkes (1575-1623), Giles Farnaby (1560-1620), Orlando Gibbons (1583-1625), John Ward (1571-1638), Thomas Morley (1557-1602), Robert Ramsey (1590-1644), John Wilbye (1574-1638), Thomas Tomkins (1572-1656)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 11.30
  • Thomas Tomkins (1572 - 1656), Traditional:
  • 1Woe Is Me03:22
  • John Wilbye (1574 - 1638), Anonymous:
  • 2O Wretched Man02:46
  • Robert Ramsey (1590- 1644), Anonymous:
  • 3Sleep, Fleshly Birth04:53
  • Thomas Morley (1557 - 1602):
  • 4O Grief Ev’n on the Bud01:41
  • Robert Ramsey, Traditional:
  • 5How Are the Mighty Fallen05:25
  • John Wilbye:
  • 6Draw on Sweet Night04:39
  • John Ward (1571 - 1638):
  • 7Come, Sable Night04:25
  • Thomas Tomkins:
  • 8When David Heard03:24
  • John Ward:
  • 9If Heaven’s Just Wrath05:07
  • Orlando Gibbons (1583 - 1625):
  • 10Faire Is the Rose03:26
  • John Ward:
  • 11Weep Forth Your Tears04:57
  • Thomas Weelkes (1576 - 1623):
  • 12Noel, Adieu Thou Court’s Delight05:13
  • John Ward:
  • 13No Object Dearer05:01
  • Giles Farnaby (1563 - 1640):
  • 14Witness Ye Heavens02:25
  • Total Runtime56:44

Info for Lachrymarium

Tears can be a marvelous expression of human pain. In this recording they have inspired the Alerĭon ensemble to undertake an intensive look at the elegiac aspect of madrigal composition during the Elizabethan period. This art form has an incredible inward beauty and emerges here as a musical lachrymarium.


also known as the avalerion, was mentioned already by Plinius. In medieval bestiaries, it was described as mythological bird, larger than an eagle, of which only one couple at a time existed. According to legend, the female laid two eggs every sixty years, and when the chicks hatched, their parents drowned themselves. In Dit de l’Alerion or Dit des quatres oiseaux, his allegorical work about love, the great minnesinger, poet and composer Guillaume de Machaut paid tribute to this legendary creature.

In heraldry, the eagle-like alerion has survived to this day, appearing for example in the coat of arms of Lorraine. In fact, it was selected by many rulers, among them René de Anjou (Le Bon Roi René) or Henri- François de Montmorency-Luxembourg, whose victory at Steenkerque was commemorated in Marc-Antoine Charpentier’s famous Te Deum. Eventually, also this vocal ensemble also has chosen the mythical eagle to be its patron.

The young singers comprising the mixed ensemble Alerion hail from all over Europe. They first came together as a group in Basel while studying at the Cantorum Basiliensis. They follow in the tradition of Evely Tubb, Anthony Rooley, and the Consort of Musicke, and dedicate themselves to music from the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and early Baroque. Elegies from the English Renaissance are considered a hidden gem by music lovers, and it is thus the ensemble’s mission to make them known to a wider European audience.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO