J.S. Bach: Complete Keyboard Edition, Vol. 2.2 Benjamin Alard

Cover J.S. Bach: Complete Keyboard Edition, Vol. 2.2

Album info



Label: Harmonia Mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Benjamin Alard

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 18.50
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 1Wir glauben all an einen Gott, BWV 109802:07
  • 2Wir glauben all an einen Gott, BWV 76502:46
  • 3Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 73701:38
  • 4O Lamm Gottes unschuldig, BWV 108503:53
  • 5O Lamm Gottes unschuldig, BWV 109502:52
  • 6Du Friedefürst, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 110203:38
  • 7O Herre Gott, dein göttlich Wort, BWV 111002:05
  • 8Wir Christenleut, BWV 109001:54
  • 9Herzliebster Jesu, was hast du verbrochen, BWV 109301:38
  • 10Gott ist mein Heil, mein Hilf und Trost, BWV 110602:49
  • 11Der Tag, der ist so freudenreich, BWV 71902:55
  • 12Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 110002:12
  • 13Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt, BWV 110102:46
  • 14Christ, der du bist der helle Tag, BWV 112002:04
  • 15Ach Gott und Herr, BWV 71402:20
  • 16Erbarm dich mein, o Herre Gott, BWV 72102:58
  • 17Als Jesus Christus in der Nacht, BWV 110802:37
  • 18In dich hab ich gehoffet, Herr, BWV 71202:46
  • 19Christ, der du bist der helle Tag, BWV 76609:16
  • Sonata in A Minor, BWV 965:
  • 20Sonata in A Minor, BWV 965: 1. Adagio02:17
  • 21Sonata in A Minor, BWV 965: 2. Fuga03:58
  • 22Sonata in A Minor, BWV 965: 3. Adagio - Presto01:16
  • 23Sonata in A Minor, BWV 965: 4. Allemande04:21
  • 24Sonata in A Minor, BWV 965: 5. Courante02:23
  • 25Sonata in A Minor, BWV 965: 6. Sarabande01:32
  • 26Sonata in A Minor, BWV 965: 7. Gigue05:58
  • Johann Pachelbel (1653 - 1706):
  • 27Toccata in C Major02:21
  • Dietrich Buxtehude (1637 - 1707):
  • 28Fugue in C Major, BuxWV 17403:11
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 29Toccata in E Minor, BWV 91407:36
  • 30Sonata in C Major, BWV 966: 3. Adagio01:47
  • 31Fugue in A Minor, BWV 95903:19
  • 32Canzona in D Minor, BWV 58804:55
  • 33Fantasie in G Minor, BWV 91701:59
  • 34Fuge in B-Flat Major, BWV 955a04:30
  • 35Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913a13:56
  • Total Runtime02:00:33

Info for J.S. Bach: Complete Keyboard Edition, Vol. 2.2

In this second instalment of the complete keyboard works, Benjamin Alard demonstrates with splendid eloquence how invaluable the young Bach’s north German experience proved to be; his attentive examination of the works of the great organ masters and his craving for all kinds of music significantly broadened the stylistic foundations of his keyboard writing. The wide range of works presented here, complemented by pieces by Buxtehude, Reinken and Pachelbel, illustrates in exemplary fashion the power of a master in the making.

Benjamin Alard, paino

Benjamin Alard
Benjamin’s principal passion has always been the music of J.S. Bach and it was for his interpretation of this great composer that he was awarded first prize in the 2004 International Harpsichord Competition in Bruges.

While still quite young he began studying music in his hometown in Dieppe, France. He was soon drawn to the organ and entered the Conservatory of Rouen where he studied with Louis Thiry and François Ménissier.

He was first introduced to the harpsichord by Elizabeth Joyé, with whom he studied in Paris before going on, in 2003, to the Schola Cantorum in Basel to work with Jorg-Andreas Botticher, Jean-Claude Zehnder and Andrea Marcon.

Since 2005 he has been organist of the Bernard-Aubertin organ in the church of Saint-Louis-en-l’Ile where each season he gives concerts about the music of Bach.

Today Benjamin Alard divides his time between performing recitals and chamber music on both the harpsichord and organ. He often performs repertoire for two harpsichords, in duo with the violinist Francois Fernandez and in various formations with the brothers Barthold, Sigiswald and Wieland Kuijken. He is regularly invited to perform as soloist in music series in Europe, Japan and North America.

Since 2005 he has been a member of La Petite Bande, an ensemble founded in 1973 by Gustav Leonhardt and Sigiswald Kuijken, often, in the last few years, conducting the group from the harpsichord.

Benjamin Alard has recorded for the label Hortus and has made several recordings of works by J. S. Bach for Alpha. His recordings have consistently received high praise from the press and have been awarded multiple prizes.

He will now devote himself to the complete works for harpsichord and organ solo of Johann Sebastian Bach for harmonia mundi. The first box will be released in Spring 2018.

Booklet for J.S. Bach: Complete Keyboard Edition, Vol. 2.2

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO