Tempesta di passaggi: Solo Music for Cornetto I Cavalieri del Cornetto

Cover Tempesta di passaggi: Solo Music for Cornetto

Album info



Label: Arcana

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: I Cavalieri del Cornetto

Composer: Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, Giovanni Battista Fontana, Dario Castello, Cipriano de Rore, Claudio Merulo, Girolamo Frescobaldi, Annibale Gregori, Andrea Gabrieli, Aurelio Virgiliano, Thomas Crecquillon, Adrian Willaert, Jacob Clemens non Papa, Luzzasco Luzzaschi, Andrea Falconieri

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 11.30
  • Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525 - 1594):
  • 1Palestrina: Vestiva i colli (Diminution by Francesco Rognoni)03:35
  • Giovanni Battista Fontana (1571 - 1630):
  • 2Fontana: Sonata prima04:01
  • Dario Castello (1602 - 1631):
  • 3Castello: Sonata prima a sopran solo04:31
  • Cipriano de Rore (1515 - 1565):
  • 4Rore: Ancor che col partire (Diminution by Riccardo Rognoni)03:35
  • Claudio Merulo (1533 - 1604):
  • 5Merulo: Canzon decimaottava (Improvised diminution by Andrea Inghisciano)02:55
  • Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583 - 1643), Annibale Gregori (15?? - 1633):
  • 6Frescobaldi, Gregori: Capriccio Fra Jacopino sopra l'Aria di Ruggiero / Ruggiero à un soprano06:07
  • Andrea Gabrieli (1533 - 1585):
  • 7Gabrieli: Canzon francese detta "Le Bergier"04:26
  • Aurelio Virgiliano (1580 - 1630):
  • 8Virgiliano: Ricercata per flauto, cornetto, violino, traversa e simili in Battaglia04:43
  • Thomas Crecquillon (1505 - 1557):
  • 9Crecquillon: Oncques amour (Improvised diminution by Andrea Inghisciano)04:35
  • Dario Castello (1602 - 1631):
  • 10Castello: Sonata seconda a sopran solo05:01
  • Adrian Willaert (1490 - 1562):
  • 11Willaert: La Rose (Diminution by Girolamo Dalla Casa)05:50
  • Clemens Non Papa (1510 - 1555):
  • 12Papa: Frais et gaillard (Diminution by Girolamo Dalla Casa)04:49
  • Luzzasco Luzzaschi (1545 - 1607):
  • 13Luzzaschi: Aura soave03:01
  • Giovanni Battista Fontana (1571 - 1630):
  • 14Fontana: Sonata quarta05:18
  • Cipriano de Rore:
  • 15Rore: Angelus ad pastores (Diminution by Giovanni Battista Bovicelli)04:05
  • Andrea Falconieri (1585 - 1656):
  • 16Falconieri: Il Spiritillo Brando01:10
  • Total Runtime01:07:42

Info for Tempesta di passaggi: Solo Music for Cornetto

A storm of passaggi to echo the virtuosity of the cornettists of Renaissance Italy who exalted their instrument, of which Andrea Inghisciano is one of the most sought-after contemporary exponents (listen, for example, to the disc ‘La Morte della Ragione’ with Il Giardino Armonico). Here, along with the keyboard player María González, he presents a programme bursting with diminutions, whether written or improvised: from the acrobatics of Francesco Rognoni and Dario Castello to the sweetness of Luzzasco Luzzaschi and Giovanni Battista Bovicelli, by way of Girolamo Dalla Casa, who, while recommending performers to ‘do few things, but do them well’, amazes us with his exuberant writing, with rapid cascades of notes as arduous to play as they are fascinating to listen to. This duo recital is the recording debut of the ensemble I Cavalieri del Cornetto, which aims to explore the art of diminution in all its forms.

I Cavalieri del Cornetto
Andrea Inghisciano, cornet
María González, soprano

I Cavalieri del Cornetto
The Tuscany based ensemble I Cavalieri del Cornetto was founded by Andrea Inghisciano with the aim of exploring mainly the music of the 16th and 17th century. Despite the constant presence of cornetto, the group is extremely versatile and can include all sorts of instruments and voices. Sharing their passion for the art of improvisation, the musicians of the group donate a special vitality and freedom during the performances.

Andrea Inghisciano
After his studies in trumpet and jazz at the Istituto Musicale “P.Mascagni” in Livorno with Marco Nesi and Mauro Grossi, Andrea Inghisciano turns to the cornetto and obtains the Master in Performance of Ancient Music at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis under the guidance of Bruce Dickey.

He leads his ensemble I Cavalieri del Cornetto and beyond the concert activity he is also a cornetto maker.

He performs with ensembles such as Il Giardino Armonico, Concerto Italiano, Accademia Bizantina, La Venexiana, Concerto Romano, Ensemble Daimonion, I Barocchisti, Freiburger Barockorchester, Collegium Vocale Gent, The English Cornett & Sackbut Ensemble, Nederlandse Bachvereniging, La Pifarescha, Helsinki Baroque Orchestra, Ensemble Claudiana, Academy of Ancient Music, La Reverdie, Anthonello, Cantar Lontano, Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Il Gusto Barocco, Les Talens Lyriques, La Cetra Barockorchester Basel, Odhecaton and others.

He recorded for Archiv Produktion, Alpha, Arcana, Naive, Emi, O-live music, Glossa, Concerto classics, Ricercar, Decca, Tactus, Brilliant, Et’Cetera, Arts, Christophorus, Amadeus.

Booklet for Tempesta di passaggi: Solo Music for Cornetto

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO