David Attenborough: A Life On Our Planet (Original Soundtrack) Steven Price

Album info



Label: Decca (UMO) (Classics)

Genre: Soundtrack

Subgenre: Film

Artist: Steven Price

Composer: Steven Price

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Mistakes04:54
  • 2To Have Adventures02:22
  • 3Evolution Undone05:06
  • 4The Wild Is Finite02:55
  • 5The Whole of Humanity02:27
  • 6The Process of Extinctions02:55
  • 7A Shared Conscience01:37
  • 8Nothing To Stop Us02:12
  • 9Life's Talent For Change05:03
  • 10An Unknown World01:47
  • 11A Devastating Impact03:19
  • 12A Place Beyond Imagination04:51
  • 13My Witness Statement02:51
  • 14I Would Feel Guilty01:18
  • 15We Must Rewild The World02:19
  • 16A Greater Opportunity02:27
  • 17Eternal Energies Of Nature02:01
  • 18Within Our Power02:30
  • 19More From Less02:46
  • 20Saving Ourselves04:34
  • 21With Or Without Us02:11
  • 22Imagining the Future01:56
  • 23This Is My Witness Statement02:35
  • 24We Need To Rewild The World02:21
  • 25Imagining the Future01:40
  • Total Runtime01:10:57

Info for David Attenborough: A Life On Our Planet (Original Soundtrack)

Although I’d been fortunate enough to work on previous productions narrated by Sir David Attenborough, the invitation to write the music for the story of his remarkable life was a particular honour, albeit a daunting one. To find the right musical tone for what Sir David refers to as his “witness statement”, a film that shows mankind’s impact on the natural world through the eyes of the man who has experienced so much and shared it with us all for so many years, was an exciting but nerve-racking prospect.

The key thing I wanted to do was to write a score that Sir David himself may enjoy. Having been told of his extensive collection of and interest in chamber music, I decided to write for a small string ensemble with assorted soloists, a marked difference in sound from the more large scale orchestral work I had done on natural history productions such as Our Planet and The Hunt.

The more intimate writing enabled me to follow the film’s journey through Sir David’s early travels to his realisation of the huge dangers facing the planet. From youthful adventures through to the sadness of the present day, and then looking forward with a more optimistic blueprint for the future, the film invited the music to accompany Sir David’s life every step of the way. We recorded the score over two days in December 2019 and were honoured to be visited by the man himself, who spoke to the musicians about our shared mission, and inspired them to performances that I was really proud to witness.

Everyone involved in the project is proud to have been a part of it, and hope that it can be seen as far and wide as possible in spreading Sir David’s crucial message. The two days in the studio recording the score were some of the most moving times I’ve had in music, and I’m very grateful for the opportunity to have been involved with the film.

The London Philharmonic Orchestra
Geoff Alexander, conductor
David Attenborough, narrator
Lisa Hannigan, vocals

Steven Price
is a composer and musician. His passion for music began early: a guitarist from the age of five, he went on to achieve a First Class degree in Music from Cambridge University. Following graduation, he went to work in the London studio of Gang of Four guitarist/producer Andy GIll, for whom he would program, contribute string arrangements, and play on albums alongside artists such as Michael Hutchence and Bono.

Mr. Price went on to work as a programmer, arranger, and performer with film music composer Trevor Jones. He provided additional music for projects such as Roger Donaldson’s Thirteen Days; Stephen Norrington’s The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen; Frank Coraci’s Around the World in 80 Days; the television series Dinotopia; and Tamra Davis’ Crossroads, on which he was also the featured guitar soloist with the London Symphony Orchestra.

A recommendation from Abbey Road Studios brought him to the attention of Howard Shore, leading to Mr. Price’s work with the Oscar-winning composer as music editor on Peter Jackson The Lord of the Rings trilogy. His subsequent movies as music editor included Christopher Nolan’s Batman Begins, for which he shared with his fellow music editors a Golden Reel Award nomination; and, in his first project with The World’s End director Edgar Wright, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, on which he also collaborated with the film’s composer Nigel Godrich. Among the other composers that he has worked with and learned from are Hans Zimmer, James Newton Howard, Harry and Rupert Gregson-Williams, Patrick Doyle, George Fenton, Dario Marianelli, and Anne Dudley.

He has composed music for advertising campaigns in both the U.K. and U.S. After contributing additional music to Richard Curtis’ Pirate Radio, he composed the original score for Joe Cornish’s sleeper success Attack the Block, winning awards from both the Austin Film Critics Association and the Sitges-Catalonian International Film Festival.

Mr. Price recently completed his original score for one of 2013’s most anticipated films, Alfonso Cuarón’s Gravity, starring Sandra Bullock and George Clooney.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO