The Doors (Remastered - 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) The Doors

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Break On Through (To The Other Side) (Remastered)02:29
  • 2Soul Kitchen (Remastered)03:35
  • 3The Crystal Ship (Remastered)02:34
  • 4Twentieth Century Fox (Remastered)02:34
  • 5Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) (Remastered)03:20
  • 6Light My Fire (Remastered)07:10
  • 7Back Door Man (Remastered)03:34
  • 8I Looked At You (Remastered)02:21
  • 9End Of The Night (Remastered)02:52
  • 10Take It As It Comes (Remastered)03:20
  • 11The End (Remastered)11:50
  • 12Break On Through (To The Other Side) (Mono Remastered)02:28
  • 13Soul Kitchen (Mono Remastered)03:34
  • 14The Crystal Ship (Mono Remastered)02:34
  • 15Twentieth Century Fox (Mono Remastered)02:33
  • 16Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) (Mono Remastered)03:21
  • 17Light My Fire (Mono Remastered)07:00
  • 18Back Door Man (Mono Remastered)03:34
  • 19I Looked At You (Mono Remastered)02:23
  • 20End Of The Night (Mono Remastered)02:54
  • 21Take It As It Comes (Mono Remastered)02:17
  • 22The End (Mono Remastered)11:46
  • 23Break On Through (To The Other Side) (Live at Matrix, 3/7/1967)03:35
  • 24Soul Kitchen (Live at Matrix, 3/7/1967)04:05
  • 25The Crystal Ship (Live at Matrix, 3/7/1967)03:07
  • 26Twentieth Century Fox (Live at Matrix, 3/7/1967)02:54
  • 27Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) (Live at Matrix, 3/7/1967)04:03
  • 28Light My Fire (Live at Matrix, 3/7/1967)08:51
  • 29Back Door Man (Live at Matrix, 3/7/1967)05:44
  • 30The End (Live at Matrix, 3/7/1967)14:14
  • Total Runtime02:16:36

Info for The Doors (Remastered - 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

50 years ago in 1967, The Doors broke through to the other side for the first time with its eponymous debut on Elektra Records. The Doors would go on to sell millions of copies and made stars of John Densmore, Robby Krieger, Ray Manzarek, and Jim Morrison. Today, the album is widely considered to be one of the all-time-classic rock and roll debuts.

To celebrate this landmark recording’s 50th anniversary, the band will release The Doors: 50th Anniversary - Deluxe Edition (Remastered).

The Doors: 50th Anniversary - Deluxe Edition includes a remastered version of the album’s original stereo mix, available on HighResAudio for the first time in a decade and remastered for the first time in nearly 30 years. The album’s original mono mix was also remastered for this set and is making its HighRes-debut here. Additionally live performance from The Matrix in San Francisco recorded just weeks after The Doors was released.

The Doors: 50th Anniversary - Deluxe Edition offers a rare opportunity to hear the band on the verge of superstardom with live performances recorded during a March 7, 1967 show at the Matrix in San Francisco. The Matrix recordings heard on this deluxe edition were sourced from the recently discovered, original tapes, previously thought to be lost. The Matrix recordings originally released in 2008 were from a third-generation source, so the sound quality of the versions debuting here is second to none.

Jim Morrison, vocals
Ray Manzarek, keyboards
Robby Krieger, guitar
John Densmore, drums

Digitally remastered

With an intoxicating, genre-blending sound, provocative and uncompromising songs, and the mesmerizing power of singer Jim Morrison's poetry and presence, The Doors had a transformative impact not only on popular music but on popular culture.

The Doors' arrival on the rock scene in 1967 marked not only the start of a string of hit singles and albums that would become stone classics, but also of something much bigger - a new and deeper relationship between creators and audience. Refusing to be mere entertainers, the Los Angeles quartet relentlessly challenged, confronted and inspired their fans, leaping headfirst into the heart of darkness while other bands warbled about peace and love. Though they've had scores of imitators, there's never been another band quite like them. And 40 years after their debut album, The Doors' music and legacy are more influential than ever before.

Morrison's mystical command of the frontman role may be the iconic heart of The Doors, but the group's extraordinary power would hardly have been possible without the virtuosic keyboard tapestries of Ray Manzarek, the gritty, expressive fretwork of guitarist Robby Krieger and the supple, dynamically rich grooves of drummer John Densmore. From baroque art-rock to jazz-infused pop to gutbucket blues, the band's instrumental triad could navigate any musical territory with aplomb - and all three contributed mightily as songwriters.

The group was born when Morrison and Manzarek - who'd met at UCLA's film school - met again, unexpectedly, on the beach in Venice, CA, during the summer of 1965. Though he'd never intended to be a singer, Morrison was invited to join Manzarek's group Rick and the Ravens on the strength of his poetry. Krieger and Densmore, who’d played together in the band Psychedelic Rangers, were recruited soon thereafter; though several bassists auditioned of the new collective, none could furnish the bottom end as effectively as Manzarek's left hand. Taking their name from Aldous Huxley's psychotropic monograph The Doors of Perception, the band signed to Elektra Records following a now-legendary gig at the Whisky-a-Go-Go on the Sunset Strip.

Their eponymous first album, released in January 1967, kicked off with "Break on Through (to the Other Side)" and also featured the chart smash "Light My Fire", the scorching "Back Door Man" and the visionary masterpiece "The End". The Doors arrived fully formed, capable of rocking the pop charts and the avant-garde with one staggering disc. Before '67 was over, they'd issued the ambitious follow-up Strange Days, with such gems as "Love Me Two Times", "People Are Strange" and "When the Music's Over".

Next came 1968's Waiting for the Sun, boasting "Hello, I Love You", "Love Street" and "Five to One". Over the next few years they minded over new territory on such albums as 1969's The Soft Parade (featuring "Touch Me" and "Tell All the People"), 1970's Morrison Hotel (which includes "Roadhouse Blues", "Peace Frog" and "Queen of the Highway") and 1971's L.A. Woman (boasting "Rider's on the Storm", "Love Her Madly" and the title track).

They released six studio albums in all, as well as a live album and a compilation, before Morrison's death in 1971. their electrifying achievements in the studio and onstage were unmatched in the annals of rock; and though Morrison's death meant the end of an era, Manzarek, Krieger and Densmore collaborated on two more original Doors albums, Other Voices and Full Circle, and a set of tracks they composed to accompany Morrison's 1969 recording of his poetry, released in 1978 as An American Prayer. They also pursued individual music projects, books, theatrical productions and other enterprises - and remain restlessly creative to this day.

In the decades since the Doors' heyday, the foursome has loomed ever larger in the pantheon of rock - and they remain a touchstone of insurrectionary culture for writers, activists, visual artists and other creative communities. Their songs, featured in an ever-increasing number of films, TV shows, video games and remixes, always sound uncannily contemporary. No matter how the musical and cultural tides turn, The Doors will always be ready to help a new wave of listeners break on through to the other side. (Source: jam inc.)

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO