Bach & Beethoven Andrew von Oeyen

Cover Bach & Beethoven

Album info



Label: Warner Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Andrew von Oeyen

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Ludwig van Beethoven

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 150): Overture in the French Style, BWV 831:
  • 1Bach, JS: Overture in the French Style, BWV 831: I. Ouverture07:48
  • 2Bach, JS: Overture in the French Style, BWV 831: II. Courante02:08
  • 3Bach, JS: Overture in the French Style, BWV 831: III. Gavottes 1 & 203:10
  • 4Bach, JS: Overture in the French Style, BWV 831: IV. Passepied 1 & 202:20
  • 5Bach, JS: Overture in the French Style, BWV 831: V. Sarabande03:47
  • 6Bach, JS: Overture in the French Style, BWV 831: VI. Bourée 1 & 202:30
  • 7Bach, JS: Overture in the French Style, BWV 831: VII. Gigue02:26
  • 8Bach, JS: Overture in the French Style, BWV 831: VIII. Echo02:38
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Beethoven: Sonata No. 13 in E-Flat Major, "Quasi una Fantasia", Op. 27, No. 1:
  • 9Beethoven: Sonata No. 13 in E-Flat Major, "Quasi una Fantasia", Op. 27, No. 1: I. Andante05:04
  • 10Beethoven: Sonata No. 13 in E-Flat Major, "Quasi una Fantasia", Op. 27, No. 1: II. Allegro molto e vivace02:17
  • 11Beethoven: Sonata No. 13 in E-Flat Major, "Quasi una Fantasia", Op. 27, No. 1: III. Adagio con espressione03:14
  • 12Beethoven: Sonata No. 13 in E-Flat Major, "Quasi una Fantasia", Op. 27, No. 1: IV. Allegro vivace05:36
  • 13Beethoven: Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, Op. 57, "Appassionata": I. Allegro assai10:44
  • 14Beethoven: Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, Op. 57, "Appassionata": II. Andante con moto06:07
  • 15Beethoven: Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, Op. 57, "Appassionata": III. Allegro ma non troppo07:59
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 16Bach, JS / Arr. Kempff: Flute Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1031: II. Siciliano03:53
  • 17Bach, JS / Arr. Kempff: Piano Concerto in F Minor, BWV 1056: II. Largo03:20
  • Total Runtime01:15:01

Info for Bach & Beethoven

Shaped by pianist Andrew von Oeyen’s experience of lockdown, this solo recital comprises Bach’s eight-movement Overture in the French Style BWV 831, Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas No 13 in E flat and No 23 in F minor, ‘Appassionata’, and arrangements by Wilhelm Kempff of two movements that Bach wrote for accompanied flute. “Perhaps more than any other composer, Bach expresses the clearest sense of order in a chaotic world,” says von Oeyen. “If Bach served as my first musical mooring in confinement, I returned to Beethoven for second-wave pandemic relief … I was now ready to weigh anchor and face the storm in the company of stalwart and indestructible 19th century sonatas. Crises, for all their destructiveness, can also lead to renewal and discovery.”

Andrew von Oeyen, piano

Andrew von Oeyen
Hailed worldwide for his elegant and insightful interpretations, balanced artistry and brilliant technique, Andrew von Oeyen has established himself as one of the most captivating pianists of his generation.

Since his debut at age 16 with the Los Angeles Philharmonic and Esa-Pekka Salonen, Mr. von Oeyen has excelled in a broad spectrum of concerto repertoire — Bartok, Barber, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Fauré, Ligeti, Liszt, Gershwin, Grieg, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff, Ravel, Schumann, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky — with such ensembles as the Philadelphia Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, San Francisco Symphony, National Symphony, Detroit Symphony, Saint Louis Symphony, Seattle Symphony, Atlanta Symphony, Cincinnati Symphony, Berlin Symphony Orchestra, New Japan Philharmonic, Singapore Symphony, Grant Park Orchestra, Ravinia Festival Orchestra, Vancouver Symphony, Utah Symphony, Orchestre Symphonique de Marseille, Geneva Chamber Orchestra, Spoleto Festival USA Orchestra, Slovenian Philharmonic and Slovak Philharmonic. As both soloist and conductor he has led concerti and orchestral works by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Ravel and Kurt Weill. On July 4, 2009, von Oeyen performed at the U.S. Capitol with the National Symphony in “A Capitol Fourth,” reaching millions worldwide in the multi-award winning PBS live telecast.

Mr. von Oeyen has appeared in recital at Wigmore Hall and Barbican Hall in London, Lincoln Center in New York, the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., Boston’s Symphony Hall, Zürich’s Tonhalle, Tchaikovsky Hall in Moscow, Bolshoi Zal in St. Petersburg, Dublin’s National Concert Hall, Royce Hall in Los Angeles, Herbst Theater in San Francisco, Sala São Paulo, Teatro Olimpico in Rome, in Bucharest, Hanoi, Macau, and in every major concert hall of Japan and South Korea.

Mr. von Oeyen’s 2016/2017 engagements include, among others, a European and North American tour with the Prague Philharmonia (including performances as both soloist and conductor), appearances with the Vancouver Symphony, Jerusalem Symphony, Rochester Philharmonic, Calgary Philharmonic, Chicago’s Grant Park Music Festival Orchestra and the orchestras of Grand Rapids, Oklahoma City, Wichita and Boise. He will also appear in recital in San Francisco and throughout Europe. In 2018 he will make his debut with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and the Orchestra Filarmonica della Fenice in Venice.

Mr. von Oeyen’s 2015/16 engagements included, among others, appearances with the Mariinsky Theater Orchestra in St. Petersburg, Detroit Symphony, Prague Philharmonia, Chicago’s Grant Park Festival Orchestra, American Youth Symphony, Portland Symphony, the Brevard Music Center Orchestra and Winston-Salem Symphony. He also appeared in recital throughout the US and Europe and performed at the Royal Opera House, Muscat, for the Sultanate of Oman’s New Year’s Eve Gala.

In June 2016 Mr. von Oeyen signed an exclusive recording contract with Warner Classics. His debut album under the label will be released in January 2017 and will include works for piano and orchestra by Saint-Saëns, Ravel and Gershwin. In 2013 Mr. von Oeyen released a critically acclaimed album of Debussy and Stravinsky piano works under the Delos Label (including two pieces written for him by composer, David Newman), following his 2011 award-winning album of Liszt works under the same label. 2013 also saw the release of the Chopin-Debussy-Ravel digital album “Andrew von Oeyen: Live in Recital.”

Mr. von Oeyen, of German and Dutch origin, was born in the U.S. He began his piano studies at age 5 and made his solo orchestral debut at age 10. An alumnus of Columbia University and graduate of The Juilliard School, where his principal teachers were Herbert Stessin and Jerome Lowenthal, he has also worked with Alfred Brendel and Leon Fleisher. He won the prestigious Gilmore Young Artist Award in 1999 and also took First Prize in the Leni Fe Bland Foundation National Piano Competition in 2001. Mr. von Oeyen lives in Paris and Los Angeles.

Booklet for Bach & Beethoven

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO